Top Flite XL Extreme Distance, Top Flite XL Extreme Tour, Calloway HX Tour

I was recently asked by a friend of mine, who is a new golfer, “What are dimples for on a golf ball?” I told him that dimples actually contain air in flight which allows for the ball to travel with less resistance. Imagine a “coating of air” surrounding the surface of the ball while spinning in flight. If it didn’t have dimples, as it traveled, the ball alone would be pushing through the atmosphere. Incorporating “dimple technology” is a very real aspect of overall golf ball performance. Physics “smarties” have this stuff all figured out.

Top-Flite XL Extreme DistancI recently incorporated two new Top Flite golf balls into my game. I believe lower handicap players can really tell the difference in golf ball performance, e.g. hard-for distance, soft-for feel and target/ball placing management, ball trajectory in different weather conditions, etc. Even though I’m only an 18 hdcp I’m able to enjoy the overall feel and results of the Top-Flite XL Extreme DistanceTop Flite XL Extreme Tour & Top Flite XL Extreme Distance golf balls. At age 44 my clubhead speed is still pretty high. These balls come off the tee “hot”. During a scramble tournament my partners let me go for it. “Grip it and rip it.” However, when playing my usual round and not trying to kill it, I do like the results this $17.95/doz product gives me.

Callaway Golf HX TourIn comparison to another ball that I’m using, the Calloway HX Tour, at twice the price of the previously mentioned Top Flight, doesn’t perform twice as good. It is “a great ball with great performance”. But, until I earn the right to justify a $39.95/doz ball, I’ll probably keep playing the ball that fits “my game”. This way, when I watch my next several balls go for a swim, I won’t feel so bad.

Seriously, I do believe if the quality of ball is better it will improve your game. Maybe not twice as much, but at least those one or two few precious strokes that may be the difference of who has to buy the drinks at the 19th hole.

Troy

6 Comments »

  1. Andy said

    I’m a 12 handicap-this ball is pretty good. I liked it off the tee and around the green. It sticks pretty well and has a good feel. Why pay $45 when I;m a 12?

  2. Do you have a spam problem on this site; I also am a blogger,
    and I was wondering your situation; many of us have developed some nice practices and we are
    looking to trade strategies with others, please shoot me an e-mail if interested.

  3. Isabell said

    Spot on with this write-up, I honestly feel this amazing site needs a great deal more attention.
    I’ll probably be returning to read more, thanks for the info!

  4. A lot of people continue to think that it is not nesessary
    to seek the services of a plumber since waste disposal could be conveniently dumped in rivers
    or abandoned open locations. Typical servicing of the HVAC system will not only boost its lifespan,
    but in addition supply energy savings through effective operating of the unit, and lowered repair fees.
    We are a long established plumbing firm based in Lowerhouse
    near Burnley and we carry out all the plumbing services that our customers are ever likely to
    need.

  5. While the death toll in this epidemic has remained relatively low, the
    virus has caused alarm and anxiety worldwide. Legal merchant account for medicinal marijuana dispensary in
    California is enabled to secure the use for medicinal marijuana merchant account treatment for the main advantage of the patient’s health and even life.
    Athletes are known to be healthy people who do right by their body and as a consequence they are able to endure the hardship of long and tiring training in preparation for their game.

  6. Hi there, You’ve done an excellent job. I’ll definitely digg it and personally suggest to my friends.
    I am sure they’ll be benefited from this web site.

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a comment